Disney Announces New Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase Four Release Schedule

In response to the nationwide theater closures due to the coronavirus pandemic, Disney has delayed and reshuffled the entire release schedule for Phase Four of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Black Widow, which was going to launch Phase Four on May 1st, will now kick things off on November 6th, the date initially slated for The Eternals. The debut of The Eternals has been pushed back to February 12, 2021, taking the place in the slate formerly held by Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which moves to the spot formerly held by Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, May 7, 2021. The sequel to Doctor Strange will now debut on November 5, 2021. The highly-anticipated sequel to Thor: Ragnarok, Thor: Love and Thunder will now open on February 18, 2022. Black Panther 2‘s release date of May 6, 2022 remains the same, and Captain Marvel 2 is actually moving up its opener to July 8, 2022.

Marvel Phase Four

  • Nov. 6, 2020Black Widow
  • Feb. 12, 2021The Eternals
  • May 7, 2021 – Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Nov. 5, 2021Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Feb. 18, 2022Thor: Love and Thunder
  • May 6, 2022Black Panther 2
  • July 8, 2022Captain Marvel 2

The ill-fated New Mutants spin-off, the last movie in the Fox-controlled universe of Marvel movies that included the X-MenDeadpool and Fantastic Four properties, was pulled from its April 3rd intended release and has yet to be rescheduled.


Images courtesy of Disney/Marvel Studios

Sound off and make your voice heard!